We use cookies to ensure we give you the best browsing experience on our website.
Find out more on how we use cookies and how you can change your settings.



At a glance

The Netherlands has been a member of the euro area since 1 January 1999. Euro banknotes and coins were introduced on 1 January 2002. Until that date the euro was the official currency but only existed as 'book money'. The euro replaced the Dutch guilder (NLG) at a conversion rate of €1 =  NLG 2.20371.

Netherlands is represented by Mark Rutte, Prime Minister, at Euro Summit meetings and by its State Secretary for Finance, Eric Wiebes, at Eurogroup meetings.

The Finance Minister of the Netherlands, Jeroen Dijsselbloem, is the President of the Eurogroup.

  • Member of the euro area: since 1 January 1999
  • Former currency: Dutch guilder (€1 = NLG 2.20371 )
  • GDP per capita (current prices): €35 900 (2013 - Eurostat)


The Netherlands has a bicameral parliamentary system. The Parliament (Staten Generaal) is composed of the Senate (Eerste Kamer – First Chamber) and the House of Representatives (Tweede Kamer – Second Chamber).

The Senate has 75 members, who are elected for four years by indirect universal suffrage by the 12 provinces of the Kingdom.

The House of Representatives has 150 members, who are elected for four years by direct universal suffrage.

The monarch is the head of state and appoints the Prime Minister, but has no real political power.

The Netherlands also has island territories in the Antilles.

Other facts:

  • Political system: constitutional monarchy
  • Voting age: 18, voting not compulsory
  • National Day: 30 April (Queen's Day)



Permanent Representation to the EU

Avenue de Cortenbergh/Kortenberglaan 4-10
1040 Bruxelles/Brussel
Tel. +32 26791511

Related News

Last updated: 09/10/2014

Legal Notice | Cookies | Copyright | Contacts