We use cookies to ensure we give you the best browsing experience on our website.
Find out more on how we use cookies and how you can change your settings.

The Eurozone


The Eurogroup, the main forum for the management of the single currency area, is an informal body that brings together the finance ministers of countries whose currency is the euro.


The Commission’s Vice-President for Economic and Monetary Affairs, as well as the President of the European Central Bank, also participate in Eurogroup meetings.


The Eurogroup’s role is to ensure close coordination of economic policies within the euro area. It also aims to promote conditions for stronger economic growth, as well as to promote financial stability.


As part of its duties, the Eurogroup prepares Euro Summit meetings and ensures their follow-up.


The Eurogroup usually meets once a month, on the eve of the meeting of the Council of the European Union (Economic and Financial Affairs - ECOFIN).


The Eurogroup adopts its work programme every six months. Each programme defines the main areas of focus and sets preliminary agendas for the upcoming Eurogroup meetings. These agendas are tentative and may change.




Eurogroup calendar


All meetings


Eurogroup President

Jeroen Dijsselbloem

Jeroen Dijsselbloem is the current President of the Eurogroup.

Policy areas

Euro area governance

Although euro area member states remain in charge of their economic policies, they are coordinated in order to ensure coherence and stability in the euro area.

About the Eurogroup


The Eurogroup brings together the finance ministers of the euro area member states. It is assisted by the Eurogroup Working Group.

Legal Notice | Cookies | Copyright | Contacts